Tags

, , , ,


Most of the Personal Progress experiences and projects require you to record what you learn in your journal.

A requirement to finish Personal Progress is also to keep a journal.

(It does not say “a daily journal” just a journal. A daily journal is good to keep because it records you personal life, but the program asks you to keep a journal to record your progress. As long as you write down your experiences in your journal this requirement is fulfilled. If your YW leaders ask you to keep a daily journal as well to complete your Personal Progress, then do that as well.)

9 Ways to Keep a Personal Progress Journal

Why Keep a Journal?

Like I said before the journaling in Personal Progress is to record what you learn in the experience.

Writing is one form of learning. Some people learn best by talking and conversing, others learn best by pondering, and others learn best by writing.

Writing is also a way to show your progress. Your leaders, parents, as well as yourself, can glance through it and see what you learned and how your faith increased.

I think it is fun to go back through my personal Progress journals and see what I thought when I was 12 or 13 my understanding of the principles.

Keep a Journal Your Way

When you first enter Young Women you are given a cute pink journal you can write in, but you do not have to use it. There are more than one way to journal, especially with all the technology around us today.

However you choose to journal I highly recommend keeping all your writing in one place. It is very frustrating when you have one somewhere and the other in another somewhere and you can’t find them both. Sometimes your Personal Progress adviser or parents want to glance through your journal to see how you are doing so you want to have that handy at all times.

Here are ten different ways you can keep a journal in Personal Progress:

1. Keep the Old Journal

If you like the journal you get when you enter into Young Women then use it.

2. Binder

This is the way I did my journaling. I think best when I write and words are more real to me on paper than typing them on a laptop. After I wrote down each entry I placed it in a binder. I liked putting it in a binder because I could arrange the papers in whatever order I wanted. I did not always do the experiences in order but that’s how I wanted the papers to appear.

3. Social Media

Some people are very personal with their journaling. If you are one of those people this may not be the best way to write for you. This is a good opportunity to share the gospel and your testimony with others. Post on whatever social media account you have about what you were asked to write in your value experience.

4. Make a New Journal

Take a composition book or other note book and jazz it up with ribbons, duct tape, washi tape, sharpies, decorative paper, quotes, or scriptures.

5. Art Journal

Draw a picture of what your experience represents and then write a few words about it, or use a quote.

6. Scrap Book

Take pictures or find pictures which remind you of the experience you are working on. Put them in a notebook and write your thoughts next to them.

7. Type on Computer/Laptop

If you are a more modern girl and feel pen and paper will soon go the way of the dodo, then type up your experience on your computer or laptop.  Use programs to add frames, clip art, and other pretty things.

8. Video/Record Yourself

I’ve never tried this one, but I think it would be fun.  If you don’t like writing, then record your voice or ask someone to record a video of you.  If you made something for your value experience or project, show it to the camera.  This would be great for Knowledge #2, which talks about developing a talent.  You can record yourself at different points and report on your progress.

9. Take Notes on Your Phone

I don’t always have a pen and paper with me, but I almost always have my phone, or other electronic device.  Use a note taking app and type about your experience.

Not every way will work for every girl.  Experiment with a couple and see what helps you learn and remember.

What other ways do you keep a journal for Personal Progress?

 

